As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Indoor Security

PrimePrime UKRegistered User regular
edited October 2014 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm pretty (99%) sure my Ex is taking some of my things from the house when I'm not there, also now I'm living on my own it would be good to be able to keep an eye on the place when I'm not around/keep an eye on the dogs.

I want to setup indoor video security that I can access over the internet while I'm at work for piece of mind from now on. I have no experience in this can anyone direct me to a brand/style of camera I'll need and pointers to the process. I'm pretty technical and can follow directions to setup most things.

Someone will bring it up so I'll mention changing the locks at this point isn't an option legally as she still requires access to the house.

Prime on

• Kick_04Kick_04 Registered User regular
    In the past I used Logitech home cameras. They use CAT5 cables. The issue is they have to be plugged into a wall outlet, so is possible for her to just simply unplug them.

You basically have a reciever box that plugs into your computer and the software, than you can install up to 5 cameras. Can mount them on walls, have stands they sit in, also have a suction cup to place on a window to look outside. They have outdoor cameras as well, never used those though. The software will let you do continous recording or motion detection and will let you zoom in or out if you want to look at a specfic area.

The nice thing about them is they all came with a micro-sd card inside the camera as a way to back up past 4 hours or so of recording. In case something was to happen to your computer or what not.

PSN id - kickyoass1
    PaD id - 346,240,298
    Marvel FF - Lil bill12
  • dispatch.odispatch.o Registered User regular