As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Need Suggestions For Site Hosting

A few weeks ago I got into podcast recording, having released three episodes so far with a fourth planned for next week. It's just a hobby, but I would still like to get them up on iTunes to share them with whoever might be interested.

I've never done anything like this before, but it seems the first step is to host the episodes on a site with RSS feed capability. I run a free Wordpress site, but it seems that 3GB is the limit for data hosting. Since the episodes average out about 110mb each, and so far has been getting weekly updates, that will only eat up those 3GB fast.

I have no idea what constitutes a good deal for monthly site fees (I was also told that there exists sites with just one-time fees), so I could really use some suggestions. I preferably want something cheap, but as long as it can accommodate my needs (a little under half a GB a month), I'll be satisfied.

• Options
    MadpoetMadpoet Registered User regular
    For hosting big blobs of data, I like Amazon S3. It's dirt cheap storage, and you can even host a simple site directly from their servers.

• Options
    Professor SnugglesworthProfessor Snugglesworth Registered User regular
    Oh man, it sure sounds great. Free trial for a year, charge by the GB, and there's even a tutorial here for setting up a podcast with it.

Registered now, waiting for verification. I hope this is as easy as it sounds to set up.

• Options
    DjeetDjeet Registered User regular
    If you can figure out AWS, more power to you. I've never encountered a more asstardedly byzantine pricing/product model ever.