As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Ethical Dilemma: To Snitch and then Requisition the Mandatory Stitch?

RMS OceanicRMS Oceanic Registered User regular
In the row of workspaces directly behind my office PC, a guy on a team within the department I work on was talking pretty loudly about the manager of my team, namely being quite critical of how she operates. Not in a corrupt/illegal way, but more she prioritises things that maybe she shouldn't and maybe she looks a bit kettlish when addressing pots. I personally don't see it, but I'm not good at seeing those things and maybe I'm biased anyway. Also the colleague in question can be a complainer about other stuff, so maybe I'm overthinking it. In general I have a concern about bad blood forming within the department, so I'm contemplating contacting my manager (who works at another site) and telling her what I heard, with the hopes that any legitimate issues are addressed and we can work without tension. Is this a good idea?

• Options
    DelmainDelmain Registered User regular
    I... wouldn't

It's quite possible this guy just needed to vent and was more critical than he actually would be normally out of exasperation. If this is a regular occurrence then maybe bring it up, but if he just got off a call like "god damn why can't she actually get me my work when I need it!", that might not be some real problem as much as it is something that's pissing him off right now.

• Options
    815165815165 Registered User regular
    You'd probably only make things worse by complaining. People bitch about eachother at work. As long as it doesn't cross over into people being bullied/excluded then it's a tiny deal.

• Options
    knitdanknitdan In ur base Killin ur guysRegistered User regular