As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

What do you do? How do you do it?

MagicToasterMagicToaster JapanRegistered User regular

I want to know what kind of project you do and what your work flow is like. Tell me about your physical space or your software layout. What's a typical project like for you and how do you use the tools you have to finish it?

Who are you?
What do you do?
What tools do you use?
What's a typical project like?
Pro Tip:

Who are you?
Hector, a wanna be linguist that can kinda draw.

What do you do?
I'm a graphic designer living in Japan, doing mostly English language ads. I've been working print so long that I cannot mix colors in my mind in RGB to save my life.

What tools do you use?
Hardware wise, I'm using a tricked out iMac and an old Wacom Intuous. I cannot work without my tablet, I literally never use a mouse.

v5nknddcut8e.jpg

Software wise, I spend most of my time in Illustrator, there's a lot of InDesign there too. I feel like I know those two programs better than my car radio. Photoshop I use only for color corrections, photo montages and the occasional edit.

I've crafted my Illustrator workspace down to the pure essentials, the most important things I constantly need access to are colors, the type pallet and the pen tool. Layers are somewhat useless to me, but I can't bring myself to totally erase them from my pallets.

9tix1sv0cus0.jpg

The appearance tool is a life-changer. You can turn off effects like drop shadows or you can add multiple strokes to text without having to expand them and outlining the font.

It usually involves meetings where they break down what the event is. Later, an account executive sends me a list of items to complete which might include logo creation, flyers, posters, billboards, web graphics and such.