As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Tim's Sketchbook

RadicouRadicou Registered User regular
edited March 2015 in Artist's Corner
Hey guys!

Nice to meet you, I'm Tim. I'm aiming to become an illustrator/comic book artist.

I started drawing a couple years ago, and I really want to start pushing myself to become as good as I can be. Problem is...I don't really know how to go about that, aside from practicing, of course. Due to my schedule, I can only realistically get in 3-4 hours a weekday, so I hope that's enough.

Here's some recent stuff I've done:

gx6c6trvwvs9.jpg
Digitally Inked

5xk3quv1bx2r.jpg
Traditionally Inked

tmeac0ghy7gz.jpg
Oils

nk6krmoef5vk.jpg
3ghvb4plgyc1.jpg
Oil studies from life

Any help/critique you can give would be awesome!

Radicou on

• OllieOllie Registered User regular
    That skull is pretty neat. How often do you do studies from life?

• RadicouRadicou Registered User regular
    edited March 2015
    Ollie wrote: »
    That skull is pretty neat. How often do you do studies from life?

Thanks! I definitely don't do it enough...

That's what I ended up doing today actually, but I haven't done anything from life in probably close to a month. That's definitely a change I need to make, I know how important that is.

ac0bdkyth2wo.jpg

I realized as I was working on this that I completely forgot about reflected light, namely on the cylinder of the camera lens. Unfortunately by that point I'd laid in a heavy value and couldn't pull it out. Guess I need to analyze a little more before I leap into it.

2yqctelrjxwv.jpg

Radicou on
  • ziddersroofurryziddersroofurry Registered User regular