As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Finn's Sketchbook and Brush work

BrushwoodMuttBrushwoodMutt Registered User regular
edited April 2015 in Artist's Corner
Hello, rather than the really long title of BrushwoodMutt I figured it would be easier with a shorter name like Finn. Why Finn? Because that has become the name of the character I'm working on.

Anyways, I'm a college student on the verge of graduating and while my professional goal is to go into Graphic Design my personal art goal is to become a webcomic artist, which to make a living off of is hard and a lot can't do so, thus the Graphic Design is a more stable job idea. I've been practicing art for 7ish years now, but this year (literally January 2015) I've felt like I was in an art rut and was getting no where. So I've been trying to start from scratch to try and find my own style and voice.
First I took my character idea of Finn and tried to draw him in other artists' styles as a starting place.
d9jpz23hgzaf.jpg

The artists I looked at were Tavis Maiden, Mike Krahulik, Katie Rice, Kris Straub, then my "old style" thing, Rick Griffin, and then Jonathan Ponikvar. And the last one was the style recommended to me to try, using Griffin's style, but Ponikvar's choice of when to use lines and when to leave areas open.

So here is my character concept sheet based on that.
22q50as04s6i.jpg

Both done using Illustrator's Image Trace feature from a pencil sketch, so they are vectors.

Next I animated his expressions using Photoshop

And finally tried my hand at animating him.