As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Mightyhog's Sketchbook

MightyhogMightyhog Registered User regular
edited June 2015 in Artist's Corner
Hey Artist's Corner! This account is seven years old, which might clue you into how guarded I am with my creative work. I'm surprised it only took seven years to allow myself a thread like this!
I'll just say I'm the worst sort of generalist, frightened of the laser focused “real artists” of the world, but lately I find myself in a much better place. I'm doing more, feeling more confident, and I think It's high time I stop simply spectating. I studied animation at San Francisco State University, and along with getting my first menial job I'm having a fun time fighting my art-demons: sketching in public, reaching out to other artists, et cetera...
I said I was a generalist and the sad thing is I really, really don't know what I want, or where I want to be. I was all about cartoons seven years ago, in school I turned to 3D, today I find myself pretty focused on digital sculpting and trying to get some grounding in realism for my traditional/digital art. The dream used to be 2D character animation, now I'm just sort of flitting between tutorials and personal projects, desperate to finally feel like I know what I'm doing and terrified of a forty hour work week that can't be a worse handicap than what I've weighed myself down with in the past...
Whew! Anyway, in my second post I'll get on with some things I've been working on. Of course I'd love to hear your feedback, that's what I'm here for! These days I have so few artists to talk to, and for the first time It's something I'm hungry for.

Mightyhog on

• MightyhogMightyhog Registered User regular
    edited January 2015