As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Employer converting me to independent contractor

PriestPriest Registered User regular
Hey all,

Not sure how to proceed with this, or the tax ramifications.

I worked for a University until June of this year, and was paid as a regular, hourly employee. Then, in July, I ended up working for them again for 1 week. For these 40 hours of work, they want me to fill out a W-9 and be paid as an Independent Contractor.

I'm wary of this for the following reasons:
1. I am a student at said University. This is not a typical employer relationship.
2. Switching to IC taxes me at a significantly higher rate than as hourly, and I am not being compensated more in return.
3. I'm not sure of the Legal/Tax implications of being both an Hourly and IC employee for the same employer during a single tax year. (Filing a W2 and 1099 for the same employer at the end of the year)
4. I have done this same week-long job the past 2 years and was always paid hourly. The only difference this year is that I left my standard position 4 weeks prior to this week of work.
5. Students employed at state universities do not pay into Social Security while attending classes and working, if paid hourly. By filing me as an IC at the same rate I'm paid hourly, not only am I now forced to pay my usual share of SS taxes, but also the University's share of SS taxes. Essentially, this is the University trying to save money by paying me less (Yay).

I talked to HR, but they said I'm a student, and that isn't their gig. I talked to Student Employment Services, and they're not sure what to do, as they feel this is something HR should handle. (They typically handle Work Studies, etc).

Anyone with experience in this that has advice?

Thank you kindly.