As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Hang in there

nakirushnakirush Registered User regular
edited October 2007 in Artist's Corner
hanginthere2cq1.jpg

I'm just starting to learn how to use the watercolor brush in Corel Painter. This is the second piece I've colored with it. All comments and critiques are more than appreciated. Thank you.

nakirush on

• Options
    TamTam Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Compositionally, most of your middle area is empty- not good.
    Also, what are the random swirlies?

You're using about 4x the space you really need.

Tam on
  • Options
    nakirushnakirush Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Thanks for the comment.

Excuses/explanation-
    I wanted the guy to be in white void (like those commercials where somebody's walking around in all white) to make him look all alone. The swirlies are supposed to be black vines/tentacles/some explained danger. As far as size goes, I just felt I need it to be very empty and big to go with the whole void thing. Just to make the guy look smaller like he was in an overwhelming situation.

What would you recommend I do? I am completely open to suggestions here. Thanks.

nakirush on
  • Options
    furiousNUfuriousNU Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    I don't particularly see this as a "artwork" because of the way the text and frame is. Therefore the standards for judging it are different. From a graphic design standpoint, there's nothing wrong with the general composition to me. If the white space were any short the hand+negative space would look extremely awkward.