As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Chicago airport: Can I leave it between flights and where do I go?

FireflashFireflash Montreal, QCRegistered User regular
edited December 2015 in Help / Advice Forum
I will be in Brazil for the first 2 weeks of January. Unfortunately I just got notified that my return flight has been modified.

Sao Paulo -> Chicago -> Montreal. I land in Chicago at 6:10 am on Jan 16th, but my flight to Montreal is only at 6 pm, which means almost 12 hours of waiting in an airport which is depressing to think about. And I bet I'd have to pay for the airport's wifi access!

I've never done this before so, is it possible to leave the airport and come back without much problem? Would it be worth it considering transportation time from and back to the airport? Where can I go for some quick enjoyment of the city for what is basically half a day?

PSN: PatParadize
Battle.net: Fireflash#1425
Steam Friend code: 45386507
Fireflash on

• Options
    MichaelLCMichaelLC In what furnace was thy brain? ChicagoRegistered User regular
    I think so, as long as you have a valid visa for the US.

WiFi is free if you watch an ad, and there are charging stations around. Just make sure you only plug into an outlet and not a USB port.

O'Hare is not by anything, so yes, it will be significant time to deboard, store luggage, get somewhere and get back.

Probably best bet is to take the el train (subway) from the airport to somewhere close. Rosemont has some interesting shops and things to do, and is the first-ish stop out of ORD. Search for 'CTA Blue Line' to see the route.

• Options
    Sir LandsharkSir Landshark resting shark face Registered User regular