As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Vidoop, internet identity security, and you

etoychestetoychest Registered User regular
Hey y'all (said in my Southern drawl that I'm told I have yet cannot hear). I know most of you probably know me as a games journalist, which I am as a writer for Gamasutra, Joystiq, and a handful or other sites like Snackbar Games. What you might not know (and why would you), is that last week I also signed on as a technical writer and corporate blogger for a new internet security company in Tulsa, OK called Vidoop. The company made a pretty big splash earlier this year at the Web 2.0 conference, and will be rolling out some neat features and announcments soon.

But as I am a writer by trade, I wanted to drop a quick line in here and see what people here thought of what the company is doing. We're essentially an OpenID provider that has developed a software-only technology that both eliminates the need for remember passwords on all OpenID and traditional websites, as well as a two-factor security process using images rather than cryptic strings. The software is available now as a Firefox plugin, and will be rolled out soon as an IE plugin and as bookmarlets in the next few weeks.

I know there are security questions and concerns. Nothing stops hacking wholesale, and last week we even showed the tech to Mudge, who liked it, but admitted it was not unbreakable. We agree, but we think this is a step in the right direction.