As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

I accidentally the hiring manager.

ZeitgeistHeistZeitgeistHeist Registered User regular
I'm a designer for a firm in D.C.. Or, well, I was -- for reasons that simultaneously totally do and totally don't make sense, I've been promoted from designer to designer-plus-hiring-manager.

A decade of critiquing projects and working for startups gives me an edge, I think, on the interviewing process itself and being able to select the right people once I find them, but that last part is a doozy. Is it enough to post ads on Indeed, LinkedIn, and Glassdoor? Am I going to need to poach people? How does that even work?

• Options
    DevoutlyApatheticDevoutlyApathetic Registered User regular
    @schuss May have some useful advice for this as I believe they're routinely involved in hiring/management.

Another place you might find ongoing advice/place to vent is the SE job thread.

Nod. Get treat. PSN: Quippish
  • Options
    RozRoz Boss of InternetRegistered User regular
    I'm a designer for a firm in D.C.. Or, well, I was -- for reasons that simultaneously totally do and totally don't make sense, I've been promoted from designer to designer-plus-hiring-manager.

A decade of critiquing projects and working for startups gives me an edge, I think, on the interviewing process itself and being able to select the right people once I find them, but that last part is a doozy. Is it enough to post ads on Indeed, LinkedIn, and Glassdoor? Am I going to need to poach people? How does that even work?

In my field, your position would qualify more under "recruiter". Are you actively responsible for finding new hires, or are you there to make the final decisions once the candidates have been presented to you?