As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Love] is love is love is love

• OmnipotentBagelOmnipotentBagel floof Registered User regular
    Rainfall wrote: »
    azith28 wrote: »
    So, tell me whats wrong with this as an introduction on an online dating site.

Hello <x>,

My name is <Y>, and I have enjoyed learning about you from your profile. I'm a __ year old SWM, originally from ____, but have lived here in ____ for ____ years. I think we have some things in common and I would like to talk with you and see what other interests we share. <insert a few things about points of interest that we share>. I work in the _____ field, have no children, and have never been married. I'm looking to start a friendship, and hopefully something more later on. Not looking for a FWB or purely physical encounter, but a potential LTR.

Hope to hear back from you,
    <Y>

Cause I'm having like zero luck getting responses, and while the above may be a little simplistic, I'm just trying to see if someone wants to return my interest before composing a multi page pamphlet. Can't see whats wrong with the approach..

Because it sounds like a job application. Be more casual.

But not too casual, or you end up with something like "help hotass I let me get stepped on in a non-intimate way..."

Yeah more something like: "Hey, I'm Azith, how's it going? You are pretty and we share a bunch of interests, would you like to chat over coffee this weekend?"

A wall of text stating your history, occupation, and long term intentions feels distinctly unnatural and robotic. It's nice info to know, but people want to learn that organically.