Hey guys, I'm going on a trip to Japan in a couple weeks, and unfortunately have celiac disease so I have to be pretty careful about what I eat (avoiding gluten, which is in wheat, barley, rye, and you usually avoid oat for cross contamination purposes).
It's a bummer on vacations where you want to just eat everything but what are you gonna do. I was hoping some of you guys would have some advice about what I can or can't eat in Japanese cuisine, and, this is a long shot I know, but any places that might understand my dietary restrictions. I've been told that Japan does not really have much knowledge of gluten allergies so it might be tough. I'd also appreciate some advice on what kinds of alcohol might be widely available (I'm guessing sake might be my best option? I hope I don't hate it)
If it matters, I'll be mostly in Kyoto I believe, with a day or so in Osaka
maybe i'm streaming terrible dj right now if i am its here