As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

CS or IS major

SpeedySpeedBoySpeedySpeedBoy Registered User regular
edited November 2006 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm a sophomore and i have to pick my classes for next semester. I started out as a CS major and still am, but i don't like coding and can't see myself putting up with this crap for the remainder of my time here. My university offers an Information Science degree and i'm currently in the introduction class for it to see what it's about. It's an OK class, we just go over general computer stuff like hardware/software, databases, networks. I guess you can choose a track later, i'd probably pick the information systems one. I want to be a systems administrator or something similar. I was wondering if someone with an Information Science degree with possibly a CS minor would be less desirable to an employer than someone with a CS degree.

SpeedySpeedBoy on

• Options
    Jimmy KingJimmy King Registered User regular
    edited November 2006
    How desirable you would be would depend on the job, the employer, and what other experience you have. In general, for a system admin type job, no it should not be if the classes you are taking for IS are network/system admin related classes. In the long run, though, most employers just care that you have a degree in something, it doesn't even need to be related to the job as long as you've got other experience to show you're capable, although it certainly doesn't hurt for the degree to be related.

Jimmy King on
  • Options
    DrFrylockDrFrylock Registered User regular
    edited November 2006