As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Would love some feedback

Liesbeth TonLiesbeth Ton Illustrator, cartoonistLos AngelesRegistered User regular
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum and I'm so excited to have found a place to chat with other artists/cartoonists. I'm a Dutch illustrator and recently I've been doing more and more cartoons. I've been working in a cartoony style for a long time, making greeting cards and calendars but would love to do more cartoons. I'm curious to know what you think of my work and how to improve.

zelczru4laax.jpg
6ri06ucl08nh.jpg
vc16n5v1dsj9.jpg
bd9xporanwox.jpg

• IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod
    Hey @Liesbeth Ton! welcome to the forum.

There's a lot going on here that's really serviceable. It has that sort of kids illustration/newspaper strip feel to it, which is arguably what you are going for. That sort of opens up the question of how you want to improve. I can tell you to, for example, to learn to draw hands, but what does that really mean in this context?

You really need to ask yourself what you want in your work, and start making some goals for yourself. Who's work do you admire? What kind of artist do you want to be?

Right now everything has a lot of energy, I like that. I think you could really be pushing things. Your inks are a bit wobbly, things are in between flat and abstracted and cartoony but having volume. Here's the questions I ask myself when I see your character:
    vb2is4009g1b.png