As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

'Coming of Age...' in videogames?

bsjezzbsjezz Registered User regular
edited September 2016 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm an English teacher and for an upcoming unit I'll be focusing on 'Rites of Passage' narratives, especially those that explore the transition to adulthood. In our scope and sequence there's a call to focus on multimedia and visual texts: my class of teenage boys has been pretty good this term so I'd like to push forward with something new and engaging for them and look at a videogame or two, if I can find some.

I'm looking for games that explore this as a primary theme. I'm searching my head and not coming up with much. Passage comes to mind: indie games like this are optimal because often the mechanics are part of the discussion about how ideas are represented, rather than just a shooter or an adventure game with a coming-of-age element to the cinematics. Can anyone else think of anything that might fit the bill?

sC4Q4nq.jpg
bsjezz on

• Options
    EncEnc A Fool with Compassion Pronouns: He, Him, HisRegistered User regular
    Off hand, The Witcher 3 is entirely about a parent's perspective and letting go of a child as they come into their own. There is a lot of scholarly criticism about it especially due to how the mechanics of the game change based upon your decisions as a parent in how much freedom and responsibility you allow Ciri to have.

• Options
    AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons comes to mind. It is all about growing up and learning to stand on your own. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brothers:_A_Tale_of_Two_Sons

• Options
    SatanIsMyMotorSatanIsMyMotor Fuck Warren Ellis Registered User regular
    Gone Home for sure.

• Options
    Enc wrote: »