As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Central Vacuum System - Keep or Remove It

witch_iewitch_ie Registered User regular
edited November 2016 in Help / Advice Forum
We just bought our first home and it has a central vacuum system in it. I'm wondering what value if any, keeping this will add to our home or lifestyles since I have no experience using them. The one we have takes up space in the garage that we could use for other things and the one hose and attachment we have for it is bulky and heavy. We also already have two good portable vacuums (Dyson). All the information I've seen online seems to suggest that these systems are better than portable vacuums because of complete suction of dirt, etc. They also seem to be put out there by people wanting to sell central vacuum systems.

I have no idea how old ours is or if it even works. Before I spend time figuring all that out, I wanted to ask around to see if others have had really positive experiences with these sorts of systems. So far, my thinking is:

Reasons to Keep: ???
Work involved to remove/dispose of

Reasons to Remove: We aren't currently using it - and probably won't without lighter attachments
More space in the garage

witch_ie on

• Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    I think the newer hoses are a lot lighter than the older 1970s style ones.

But yeah they're a superior system for a few reasons. The hose tends to be lighter than pushing around a vacuum though.

A lot easier to maintain too.

not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    SatanIsMyMotorSatanIsMyMotor Fuck Warren Ellis Registered User regular