As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Best Starting language to learn for a game?

PlotWholePlotWhole Registered User new member
I'm just a regular old senior in highschool with a dream of developing videogames ever since i started playing them at a young age (this sounds super corny but whatevs) and i thought that better to start now than later. i have little to no experience in developing games other than using the free version of Game Maker for my GD class. I want to start small nothing too big or difficult the only languages i know of are C++ or Python and i need some advice on if these are the easiest or of there are others out there.

Forumers i need your help! if you could send me anything to help me get started or push me in the right direction that would be GREAT! To whomever responds thank you!

• Options
    amateurhouramateurhour One day I'll be professionalhour The woods somewhere in TennesseeRegistered User regular
    GameMaker: Studio and the newest GameMaker 2.0 are both fine for making games. They're better suited for 2D but they're great. I've done some prototyping in them and I enjoy it.

Unity is better for 3D and you can insert raw code into it.

They both have a HUGE reddit community, youtube tutorials, and a decent marketplace for code snippets.

are YOU on the beer list?
  • Options
    JasconiusJasconius sword criminal mad onlineRegistered User regular
    there's not a best language, as all things have strengths and weaknesses

if you want "fastest to something good", I would also advocate for GameMaker. I'm an unlikely champion of gamemaker, I think it makes for really good training wheels.

The language that GameMaker uses is called "GML", and it defies direct comparison, but aesthetically it relates a lot to C#.