As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

I needs me a laptop, please help me pick

brokecrackerbrokecracker Registered User regular
Okay.
Let me star tout (Ha, Star Tout) by saying that I am not that tech savvy. I know when it comes to Gigs more is better and better processing makes it run faster, but thats about it.

I am graduating soon and am in the market to buy a laptop for graphic design and home use proposes. It needs to be able to run Adobe programs (Illustrator, Photoshop, and maybe After Effects, Multipule programs at once), and have internet capabilities. I know I can run those programs on any computer but I have no Idea how much space they take up.

I am not interested in using it for gaming or other functions and I have about $600 to $700 to spend and was hoping to cash in on holiday deals.

What should I be looking for specs wise?
any help would be greatly appreciated.

brokecracker on

• Options
    taliosfalcontaliosfalcon Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    in that price range this is all that immediately comes to mind http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/vostronb_1500?c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd&~tab=bundlestab upgraded to the 1.6 ghz core 2 duo processor, comes out to 655ish + tax

i'm sure people will come out of the woodwork screaming mac in a few minutes, but your not going to find a macbook for 700

taliosfalcon on
    steam xbox - adeptpenguin
  • Options
    ben0207ben0207 Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    He'll find a nice PowerBook for that though, which knocks the shit out of that Dell and will handle at least the next 3 years of Adobe and Apple updates.

ben0207 on
  • Options
    taliosfalcontaliosfalcon Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    ben0207 wrote: »