As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

The [chat] Who Circumnavigated Fairyland

• Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited June 2017
    DiamondGFX wrote: »
    Hey all! I recently started getting back into art (mostly drawing/painting) in a pretty big way after having essentially taken about 10 years off (at least from serious work, I've been doodling and sketching here and there but nothing significant). I was considering starting a blog about my exploits and using it as a way to keep track of my progress and potentially even making that all public...

Is this a terrible idea fraught with peril? Obviously there's a lot of vulnerability in showcasing what is...honestly, probably some pretty awful art. I majored in art in High School but then switched to Computer Science when I went off to college so I don't really have any formal training outside of books/tutorials/Udemy courses/etc. I'm hoping that maybe doing something a little more public will encourage me to actually stick to it and also provide a little bit of motivation with a record of where I "started" vs where I am now. I'd love to know everyone's thoughts on the topic :)

What I've been doing is just mostly keeping two separate identities, my professional and my online one. Professional is still online but I try to divorce it of all connections. If I like someone enough and have a reason to "invite" them (or they ask) I give them my personal deets.

There's not a whole lot of ways to get back and forth between bowen on PA to my professional stuff.

That might be a good enough degree of separation if you don't want to go full public in case there is some deeply personal stuff you share here you don't necessarily want to be linked via google.

bowen on