As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Career Crossroads

RayzeRayze Registered User regular
edited July 2017 in Help / Advice Forum
I was laid off from my job last year (a few days off to the day, in fact), and I haven't been able to land anything since. As a background, I graduated with a degree in Criminal Justice and while I liked what I learned, I had/have no idea what to do with it. Didn't want to be a cop/correctional officer, lawyer, paralegal, etc. I thought I might do something in administration or maybe the FBI since I've had people tell me my disposition suits it, but no luck.

I was mired in depression for about a year and a half until my husband (then fiancé) told me to apply for a QA position at a video game studio. I happened to play the game the opening was for and he thought I would be great at the job. I got it and was pretty happy for around two years but then the layoffs started and morale started going down. I eventually stopped caring for what I was doing and sought to move around but opportunities were very scarce. In the end, I did QA for 5 years until I got the boot. I thought I would be ok, especially since I didn't want to go back to the video game industry, but I realized perhaps too late that my previous position made me ill-prepared for the outside world. We did all manual testing that didn't involve coding and automation experience, which is what many companies today require in a candidate.