As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Career Change. Need advice

LuellaLuella Registered User regular
edited October 2017 in Help / Advice Forum
Okay. I need help. I have a Bachelors in Accounting. I knew when I was studying the field I hated it. However, I thought once I got started in my career, I would learn more, adapt and it wouldn't be so bad. Turns out, it's bad. So I got my degree in 2012. I worked at a temp agency for six months then landed a job at a large utility company. I hated it. Not only did I hate it, I'm bad at it. I am an analyst and I can't analyze anything. Every day I am just overwhelmed because I fear people are going to figure out I know nothing about accounting and I've tried. I have no motivation to learn accounting at all. I have to google if revenues are credits or debits every day almost. So I spent about two years at this utility company and then moved into auditing. Realized I hated that more than what I was doing at the utility company (SEC financial statements) and went back to that big utility company. About three years later, again I was ready to drive my car into a median on the highway. I have severe depression and anxiety and I know this affects me a ton. However, I took a 6 week FMLA and all my depression and anxiety went away. No cocktail of medicines has ever been able to do that. I think I need to get out of accounting permanently. I even left that utility company for the second time and landed a supposedly less stressful job at a smaller company about two months ago. None of it is less stressful. The guy who got me here, the controller, said he was going to train me and help me along. Well, instead of doing that he quit on my second week. Now I'm trying to maintain reports of his I have no idea what they mean and I can see