As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Canadian Politics] Shouldn't we talk about the weather?

• PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Highest marginal in Ontario is actually 53.5% after the surtax

• hippofanthippofant ティンク Registered User regular
    Phyphor wrote: »
    Highest marginal in Ontario is actually 53.5% after the surtax

Sorry. You're right. 45.3% is the highest non-eligible dividend tax rate.

Not that I totally know what that means..........

• psyck0psyck0 Registered User regular
    I'm a doctor. Doctor's billing fees have been fairly stagnant for about a decade. In lieu of pay raises, some governments have encouraged doctors to incorporate and save on taxes. Now they are planning to do away with that possibility. You can understand why many are pissed- it seems like bad faith to encourage use of tax loopholes instead of increasing pay with inflation, and then get rid of them when it's not convenient. It's basically a non-negotiable pay cut made outside the usual contract negotiations, and for some, will amount to over 10-20,000 lost. If this were happening to a big union it would be considered very anti-labour.

I do feel that we are over paid, however, and am not one of those complaining.

Play Smash Bros 3DS with me! 4399-1034-5444
    steam_sig.png
  • hippofanthippofant ティンク Registered User regular
    edited August 2017
    psyck0 wrote: »