As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Cosplay Robotics and Puppetry!

divisiontendivisionten Registered User regular
Hi there! My name is Sara Winters and I'm a programmer and visually impaired cosplayer! I'm going to be doing a panel on Sunday about making puppets and robotic elements for costumes (and general nerd-don). I'm going to cover basic light sources, materials, moving jaws and tails, talking plushies... anything you would want me to discuss? I'll be bringing my Clank puppet and animatronic talking Monokuma, and probably discuss my GLaDOS build as well.

• Options
    Rhea_starstormRhea_starstorm Portland, ORRegistered User regular
    Excited to see the monokuma!

• Options
    ShockkotaShockkota Registered User new member
    *looks up* GLaDOS build... Yep ill be there.

• Options
    edited August 2017
    Shockkota wrote: »
    *looks up* GLaDOS build... Yep ill be there.

It's a very very old cable puppet. I'm not sure if I even have time to cover that.

Not trying to be a pessimist, just tight on time and it's a pretty old build my ex boyfriend astole so I don't even own it anymore, just have screencaps and video. If you want the WIP I would be happy to send

divisionten on
  • Options
    watsonlogicwatsonlogic Registered User new member
    Awesome! Could you spend some time going over how to solve a design problem without making it more complicated than it needs to be. I find that when I'm designing a part for 3D printing, my first few attempts are overly complicated. If I get started with cosplay I imagine I'll run into the same problems.

• Options
    The AviatrixThe Aviatrix Registered User regular
    I'd love to know where you get your materials :D I run into the problem of knowing what I need in theory, but not being able to find it.