As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Job Interview advice

ReznikReznik Registered User regular
edited September 2017 in Help / Advice Forum
In a fit of dissatisfaction, I shotgunned a bunch of online job applications and unexpectedly got a bite. And now I've got an interview on Wednesday.

This is really my first interview for a real, legit, professional job and not a minimum wage grocery store deal or a college co-op. It's for an IT position in a very large company, somewhat similar to what I am already doing (desktop support, managing lab PCs) but with Linux, OSX, and security stuff thrown in.

Now, I did the Linux and security stuff in college but I graduated 2 years ago and haven't had the opportunity to use any of it in my current position (and things are very rigid and segmented here; even if I asked, I would not be allowed to dip my toes into any of it). We just got a Mac in our lab and I have some experience using them but little to none in any kind of sysadmin capacity.

I'm wondering what the best way is to deal with my lack of experience in those areas if it comes up in the interview. I am a quick study and if you give me time with the tools and some material to read, I can learn just about anything. It's been discouraging to see so many job postings with '5 years of experience in [tool you never had the opportunity to use anywhere but in school]', I guess I'm just worried that "I can learn it" isn't good enough.