As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Online Backup

WindburnWindburn Registered User regular
I am an amateur photographer and I have a photo library of several thousand pictures. My work flow includes transferring all my recent pictures to an external drive annually. This drive is kept in a fire-resistant safe in my home office. I also backup this drive to CrashPlan annually.

Or at least I did. CrashPlan recently decided to exit the consumer market. So I have begun to transition to Carbonite. Unfortunately, I have discovered that upon disconnecting my external drive, Carbonite begins a count-down timer of 60 days. If I do not reconnect the drive within the time period, Carbonite will delete the files from there server.

Ok, so here is my question. Is there a better online backup option for external drives?

• Great ScottGreat Scott King of Wishful Thinking Paragon City, RIRegistered User regular
    Better? No. But both Google and Microsoft (OneDrive) offer 1TB of storage for $10/mo. IIRC OneDrive gives you a free Office365 subscription as well, so I went with that, but upload speeds on Google Drive seem faster.

Most of the various online storage vendors seem to be converging on $100/year for 1TB and some lesser amount for 100GB. I don't think there's very much different between offerings other than who is backing them.

I'm unique. Just like everyone else.
  • CauldCauld Registered User regular
    edited October 2017
    If you have a prime membership, Amazon prime photos gives you free unlimited cloud storage for pictures.

Cauld on
  • PyrianPyrian Registered User regular
    How big are we talking?

• WindburnWindburn Registered User regular
    Not huge. Only about 300 GB.