As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Life Feels Stuck

TerrendosTerrendos Decorative MonocleRegistered User regular
I know it's not fair for me to be complaining because comparatively my life isn't bad; I'm employed and making good money at my current job. But I feel very unhappy with the path my life has taken (read: no path) and I'm out of ideas as to what I'm doing wrong.

I have a BS and MS in mechanical engineering and I currently work as a contractor at my current position, where I've been for four years now. My pay is good but the benefits are bad (one week of paid vacation a year, for example), I am regularly made to feel expendable, and I don't like what I'm doing. I'm assigned to fire protection, which I despise, and is not what I was hired to do, but nobody else wanted it and as a contractor I got stuck with it (read: I mentioned that I had no interest in the field and was vaguely threatened with termination of my contract). No big deal, right? Just find another job! Well, I've been trying to do that, off and on, for two years now. I've sent out well over a hundred applications and had a grand total of 2 interviews, and never heard back from either. One of them was for an engineer 1 position at a different branch of my own company doing *basically* what I'm doing now, and I couldn't even get that! How the hell does that happen?