As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

I'm losing my hair in a funny way and not sure what to do with it.

GoodKingJayIIIGoodKingJayIII They wanna get mygold on the ceilingRegistered User regular
I'm 35. My hair has been thinning since I was 25 or so, but it has not been all that noticeable until about three years ago. I had awesome hair. No really, I'm not trying to brag or anything. It was a really really good head of hair and I was always really happy with it. It was part of my identity and how I saw myself.

I've been whining about shaving it for a couple years now, because of my indecision and resistance to the idea that it was going. Deep down I still wanted to be that kid with a good head of hair. To top it off, I've been battling severe depression for close to three years now for other reasons, but for a few months I've been able to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

So I decided it was time to cut the cord, so I shaved my head. I'm not going to pretend my hair is sticking around, and I don't want to do surgery or anything for a variety of reasons. So I just went ahead and did it. No guard on the trimmer, but I didn't go full Mr. Clean. So basically a very close buzz. My wife was pretty unhappy. I get it. We've been together for 14 years and she fell in love with that kid with the long hair. But he's not coming back.

But I felt pretty confident after I did it. Gave me some control over the situation. Even got some compliments, which is nice, but I mostly did it for myself. All this is some leadup to the problem: I've always been losing my hair in a weird way.