As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

It's time to get a new(er) car

I've been driving my Scion xB for 14 years and it's time for me to get a new or newish car. I've been scoping out hybrid vehicles and have it pared down to these three options which consistently are in the top of various lists.

Honda Accord Hybrid
Toyota Camry Hybrid
Chevy Volt

I'm personally kinda surprised that the Chevy is has topped a lot of the recommendations and reviews. My preference is to go with the Honda. I'd like to hear from anyone who has owned or current owns any of these three and what your thoughts are on long term ownership. If you couldn't tell, I'm not a every four or five year kind of car buyer. I'd rather keep it for a decent amount of time. For the record, my xB has made it over a quarter million miles and is still going strong. Part of what's prompting this is the absolute stark changes in technology since I bought that one and a consistent, but slow decline in gas mileage.

Open to buying used or off lease versions if the price difference is enough to cut payments by years and not just months.

All opinions are my own and in no way reflect that of my employer.

• Options
    ElvenshaeElvenshae Registered User regular
    Why a Camry over a Prius?

• Options
    tinwhiskerstinwhiskers Registered User regular
    How long is your daily commute and could you plug in the Volt nightly?

A couple and a former coworker of mine both own Volts and were very happy with them. The couple worked close enough to drive to work together in it and (about 10ish miles round trip) and went over a year between fill ups with it.

6ylyzxlir2dz.png
  • Options
    StraygatsbyStraygatsby Registered User regular