As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Pull requests and imposter syndrome

CelestialBadgerCelestialBadger Registered User regular
I’m a coder. I recently joined a new company and all was well for a few months, until we started a thing where we could no longer push completed features to master, but must now submit a pull request for comments from the entire team before merging.

This is not something I ever experienced before and it’s causing me a lot of anxiety. Every time I write a line of code I second guess myself. I think “What would x think of this? What would Y comment? It’s severely reducing my code output without noticeably increasing quality and 100% reducing my job satisfaction.

I was feeling pretty great about my code until this happened. It’s absolutely miserable but I don’t feel I can complain as I’d basically be saying “I can’t take criticism.”

Is this just the way the world is now? How does this process work at other companies?

• Options
    Inquisitor77Inquisitor77 2 x Penny Arcade Fight Club Champion A fixed point in space and timeRegistered User regular
    Are you being singled out, or is this a new SOP for everyone? Code review is pretty standard, but pull requests from literally everyone before merging seems...onerous.

• Options
    JasconiusJasconius sword criminal mad onlineRegistered User regular
    if it's a policy that applies to everyone you'll find that most people will not participate anyway

for as much as you don't want your code looked at, many people also don't to be "that guy" commenting on everyone else's work

• Options
    PowerpuppiesPowerpuppies drinking coffee in the mountain cabinRegistered User regular