As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

How Do I Talk to People Who Aren't Like Me?

2»

• Options
    IncenjucarIncenjucar VChatter Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited October 2018
    Being up for events and being able to focus on the social part helps a lot. I hate sports, but I once into some family in their way to a game and went along and now we have a story.

And rest assured, people love to find out that thing things with them is inherently fun.

Which brings to mind: consider spending time with people doing super mundane tasks like shopping or washing a car. I've had some great bonding experiences with people just sharing jokes about ugly clothes and weird grocery items.

Incenjucar on
  • Options
    SwashbucklerXXSwashbucklerXX Swashbucklin' Canuck Registered User regular
    edited October 2018
    Get curious and learn to ask questions. This is something I've had to work on myself, because it's not necessarily easy or natural. But the good thing is that people like to talk, so you can feel free to practice! I've been practicing by going to social events at my condo, where most of the other residents are older than I am and we don't share many interests. We can always talk about life, however. What do you do for work, for fun? Oh neat, I don't know a lot about that, what do you enjoy about it? Where'd you meet your spouse? Have you always lived here, or did you move from somewhere else? Do you like to travel? Oh, I've never been there, what's it like?