As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

DVG Art Thread [NSFW]

DVGDVG No. 1 Honor StudentNether Institute, Evil AcademyRegistered User regular
edited June 2018 in Artist's Corner
I've been thinking about making a thread for awhile and haven't gotten around to it, but it seems like today is the day.

Anyhow I'm DVG and I'm a software developer. I started drawing 15ish years ago after college with the intention of one day self publishing long-form comic books. Mostly I refused to listen to good advice about drawing from life and assured myself that if I just kept inconsistently trying to draw stylized art on a tablet eventually everything would click and I'd be able to make the stuff I wanted to make.

This was all my best work around summer last year:

Arya v. Brienne

JrBFjel.png

Ginny Weasly

5xD2OwX.png

Terry Branford

w8jJwWu.png

Self Portrait

MxfyJAn.png

Group of adventuring kids for a christmas D&D game

ovmj3r5.png

----

So my company does this thing every year where you can pitch a personal project or passion and a panel of judges (the previous years winners) will award a set of grants (last year, they were $4,000) for you to go do that thing. Winners have including building a yurt, going on a family vacation, building a mobile office in an old RV and funding a roommate's transgender surgery. I pitched my oldest comic idea, along with this piece of concept art:

XKAuDeG.png

Pretty generic, right?

Anyway, I was soundly defeated, but it DID spark something in me. I've been fucking around with this as a hobby for 15 years now. I haven't seen substantial improvement in my work in 5-10 years. I need to shit or get off the pot.