As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Cyberpunk 2077 - It Can't Get Darker Than Night City, Right?

• PhillisherePhillishere Registered User regular
    Bigity wrote: »
    Dixon wrote: »
    Maybe things like financial institutions don’t have it as severe as the red tape on releases is strict enough it actually prevents crunch from being effective.

Negative, at least in my experience with financial institutions.

They absolutely have a huge year-end data format event where the entire year is put through a strainer, audited, and cataloged. I am an IT guy by trade but I am very familiar with the hellish wringer I saw the other side of the building go through for End of Year.

The software support people for these institutions end up working 12-18 hour days for weeks leading up to it, and EOY itself is all-hands-on-deck for the banks and the software providers.

This does not include FDIC Audits, which is another nasty time for banks, especially with rule changes.

Sound a lot like crunch time? It absolutely is. And it's ingrained pretty firmly in corporate culture.

Yup, crunch time is just a normal thing sometimes. Audit times, tax season, new software deployments, etc.

But I agree that alot of it can be avoided, and attempts should be made to do so effectively.

Personally, if I worked somewhere that required it all the time, I'd be looking for work somewhere else.

OTOH, I never got to tell my flight commander I wasn't going to come in after hours or on weekends to make the project deadline because the general wanted it done.