As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[Rocksmith] Rocksmith Plus more money

• Options
    JOE_1967JOE_1967 Registered User regular
    edited June 2019
    JOE_1967 wrote: »
    Yeah, string skipping is one of those things that seems pretty basic, but it's something amazing players can struggle with at high speeds, at some point. Picking technique becomes a lot more important in those instances.

Oh god, yes. It's something I didn't start trying to perfect till just a few years ago

I'm in the exact same boat. I started playing around 1992, and learned quickly, but was never good at lead stuff. I could play pretty much any Metallica or Megadeth rhythm riff, but anything approaching a solo just made my fingers turn to mush. I just assumed I wasn't a lead player and went on with my life. It wasn't until a couple of years ago that I picked up the guitar again after a long absence and actually started practicing, and my lead ability developed way beyond what I thought I could do. I'm still what I would consider "barely adequate", but the right practice can work wonders.

Watching that video and I'm reminded that TBH, one of the biggest challenges I face with RS in particular is that it's difficult to look from the note highway to the fretboard and back, especially when I have to do some kind of big shift from the bottom to the top of the neck or something like that.

That's something I've noticed I've improved greatly on by using Rocksmith. Not only just looking at the screen and moving my hands where they need to be, but also stuff like glancing down and picking out the 16th fret without really processing it.

That's good to know. I probably just need to spend more time on it (as with everything else).