As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Painting Miniatures] What colour is the best colour to paint your miniatures?

• italianranmaitalianranma Registered User regular
    edited August 2019
    Purple
    I mean my current technique is base, wash, drybrush, highlights/details. Maybe my dry brushing needs improvement but I never feel I get as much out of it as I can, personally.

Gotcha. My bad I didn’t look back far enough to see what you were already doing. I personally like the edge highlighted look of the GW studio models so I started practicing it right away. Only things you need are a brush with a fine tip and a lot of patience. I bought a few “level 3” size 0 brushes at Michael’s for a few dollars each and they’re the best I have for most applications: I like them better than my Games & Gears brushes that were 4x the cost. The technique I was taught is to cup the heels of my hands together with my elbows on the table. The biggest variance I find is in the consistency of my paint; despite using a wet pallet I always feel like my paint changes consistency too quickly.

italianranma on
    飛べねぇ豚はただの豚だ。
  • DayspringDayspring the Phoenician Registered User regular
    Purple
    4lo3fzawnp1i.jpeg
    Rust Point Devastators ready to rumble!

My Warhammer stuff online: Youtube Twitter Insta
  • StragintStragint Do Not Gift Always DeclinesRegistered User regular
    edited August 2019
    I've had a headache since airbrushing last night. I couldn't find a face mask and decided to use my t shirt, probably wasn't a good idea.

Edit: Found my mask, fixed the missed spots and then did the base for burnt iron. Went on way easier. Gonna do the gold tonight.