As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Audiophilia: Headphones, Amps, DAPs, and Empty Wallets

• NaphtaliNaphtali Hazy + Flow SeaRegistered User regular
    Aridhol wrote: »
    Trajan45 wrote: »
    I think it depends on your use case. Do you want to walk away from your desk and still listen to music or be on a call? Do you plan on using them with your phone to listen to music on the go? Those seem to be the most common reasons for wireless. Wireless in general is going to impact the sound quality you get, so unless you need that freedom, it's probably best to go corded.

I'm far from an expert but from what I gather there isn't really any other "gaming" headsets that will blow your Arctis Pro 5 out of the water. Maybe the Audeze Mobius or the beyerdynamic MMX 300, both out of your price range.

I'm not really sure if there is anything that would be much of an upgrade in your price range. You're probably best off staying with the AP5 and saving up. For example the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x are around $200 CDN but for gaming, from what I'm reading they are pretty close the the Arctis (they have more bass).

I want to be able to walk away from the desk and also to not deal with wires if I am out and about at a coffee shop or whatever working.
    I will probably still use earbuds on the go but depending weight & battery life that would be an option.

I like my current headset but I hate the wire part :/

maybe look into a higher end arctis that's wireless, like the arctis 7 should still be in your budget and you could try selling off the arctis 5 to help defer costs.

Steam | Nintendo ID: Naphtali | Wish List
  • Trajan45Trajan45 Registered User regular