As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[Game Dev] I don't have a publisher. What I do have are a very particular set of skills.

• Options
    Houk the NamebringerHouk the Namebringer Nipples The EchidnaRegistered User regular
    It mainly comes down to performance. If it's small/resource-safe enough that having everything loaded at the same time doesn't cause lag/slowdown/framerate issues then it's fine to keep it all loaded. But if you're seeing even a little bit of performance issues due to resource drain, you're better off just loading what you need. I know Unity has been improving its ability to stream in levels/areas/content, but I'm not an expert so I can't say how effective/efficient their systems are compared to other engines.

• Options
    CornucopiistCornucopiist Registered User regular
    Definitely break it up. For one, there are lighting issues with huge meshes, and there's a vertex limit.

If you're interested I'm working on a procedural terrain generator that uses the DOTS system to generate terrain tiles as entities. Coincidentally it creates a big mesh (which uses a trick to get past the vertex limit) for the distance, then loads streamed entity tiles on top.

If you don't go procedural, you can use the subscene workflow to similar effect.

The impact on speed is HUGE.

One thing I've not explored is using the built-in terrain, and that may actually cover your needs.

• Options
    templewulftemplewulf The Team Chump USARegistered User regular
    Definitely break it up. For one, there are lighting issues with huge meshes, and there's a vertex limit.