As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Updates on [Coronavirus] Thread

• Gabriel_PittGabriel_Pitt (effective against Russian warships) Registered User regular
    Approved, not enacted.

• nexuscrawlernexuscrawler Registered User regular
    NY's hospitals is definitely getting overrun.

I think the pictures of doctors and nurses wearing garbage bags as protective gear was a pretty good indicator

• Phoenix-DPhoenix-D Registered User regular
    As a bonus being tubed
    dispatch.o wrote: »
    RickRude wrote: »
    ny is now sharing ventilators . I thought this was a worst case scenario measure.

https://www.cnn.com/2020/03/26/health/splitting-ventilators-coronavirus/index.html

My opinion is this is a bad idea. Ventilation isn't a simple thing and I am not a doctor.

Edit: Article outlines reasons from an anesthesiologist.

It's unethical in my opinion to treat two people at a lower standard because you're determined to "do something" if that something generates an additional harm.

Everyone is determined to do everything within their power without anyone calling them out on it because it's scary and feels yucky to admit there's nothing we can do.

Edit2: article implies it's approved, not necessarily happening.

If it can be done, and done safely, it's better than the alternative. Big ifs though.

• spool32spool32 Contrary Library Registered User regular
    So, the Charlotte Observer is writing that NC is going to stop using testing as their main vector for tracking the spread of COVID - because tests are taking too long to get back. They're going to rely on an epidemiological method similar to how they track the flu and restrict testing to only those absolutely necessary.

This seems like a crazy idea, and one that's sure to depress numbers here.