As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Recipe etiquette on social media?

DrezDrez Registered User regular
edited May 2020 in Help / Advice Forum
I never thought I'd be asking this question, but here I am nonetheless.

As anyone here on social media can probably attest to, there has been a significant uptick in amateur cooks during the COVID quarantine/lockdown. I threw my hat in the ring. I've been flirting with cooking since last year, but I never really went whole hog on it, mostly due to lack of time and energy. But I've really embraced it and I've been ticking through multiple recipes.

I'm also an enthusiast-slash-semi professional photographer and I have an Instagram with an embarassingly low number of followers (a little over 600). I only bring that up because its relevant to the question I am going to ask. It's not a significant number of people but it's still hundreds.

Anyway, this past week I've been posting some of my cooking results on my account (since I can't really do portraiture right now) and they've been met with a surprising amount of positivity and interest, including some randoms that aren't even following my profile. I've been dual posting to Facebook as well, but as that is a still large but mostly cultivated list of contacts I'm not really worried about posting anything there.

I've gone through a few dishes, but today was a baked ziti dish. It was heavily inspired by a recipe I found by randomly clicking around YouTube. I found a similar recipe last week on a different site as well, but I based my final recipe and method on this particular recipe I found on YouTube. I think baked ziti is pretty