As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Music] Maker's Thread.

• RickRudeRickRude Registered User regular
    I just bought my gf a keyboard for Christmas, now it's time to learn to play. Anyone know some good YouTube channels and websites? She's also interested in using it in a DAW, but that will come.latwr. it's a Yamaha prsew300

• hemmelighthemmelight Registered User regular
    I'm fairly new to the piano as well, but I quite like the 'Pianote' YouTube channel for lessons.
    The instructors aren't obnoxious (so far) and everything is very clearly explained.

• RickRudeRickRude Registered User regular
    hemmelight wrote: »
    I'm fairly new to the piano as well, but I quite like the 'Pianote' YouTube channel for lessons.
    The instructors aren't obnoxious (so far) and everything is very clearly explained.

Seemed like some decent basic lessons once I found the playlist for them. A random video came up after I left the room for some time and was watching something else and it seemed pretty good. Was on chords and showed how you can play the notes individually and make a song. Coming from playing guitar I really appreciated that because beinf able to do my own thing kept me learning

• hemmelighthemmelight Registered User regular
    I've found many of the lessons really useful for explaining general music theory stuff that seemed really abstract to a guitar player.

For example, the concept of chord inversions.
    On a guitar fretboard, it's really hard for me to visualise - but when they explained it on a piano it made perfect sense!

• Ronin356Ronin356 Nowhere MORegistered User regular
    Still want to make a harry potter themed bluegrass band called Banjo and the deathly hallows.