As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Audiophilia: Headphones, Amps, DAPs, and Empty Wallets

• Hahnsoo1Hahnsoo1 Make Ready. We Hunt.Registered User regular
    edited January 2021
    Hahnsoo1 wrote: »
    Drovek wrote: »
    Hey guys. So I am looking for some bone conduction headphones/earbuds/whatever(consider they don't actually go in ear). Looking to not spend to crazy an amount, they will be just for working out and doing some running. I'm leaning towards bone conduction to have open ear and be able to hear stuff going on around me if needed for the sake of safety. I am also wondering that they are safer in the sense of not having the thing in my ear to maybe get stuck(?) and also to not directly expose the eardrums to sound. I am new to this aspect, and by no means an audio expert. Any advice on something that'd be on amazon as far as links, brands, etc.

Thanks for the input guys.

I got the missus some Aeropex last year and she's been using them religiously. They're really interesting (in the "someone is piping sound directly into my skull" way.) Possibly one of the strangest sensations ever is plugging your ears and hearing things louder.

Now for one of your points: You can still damage your hearing with these. You're not directly stimulating the eardrum, but it's still working out.

You're going to be missing out on bass, a lot.

On the plus side, they're also amazing for calls and podcasts. And for exterior working out, specially for not feeling isolated/safety, they're perfect.

Ok. Now what about the air conduction alternatives? Also you mean missing bass, how so? They just don't have bass or...?