As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Dragon Age Thread – The third and final story DLC out now on PS4/XBO/PC

• ProhassProhass Registered User regular
    edited February 2021
    The thing is they get the worst of both worlds, because the story is also about a main character, same with destiny. It’s always you that’s saving the day. I want a games as service game to lean into the fact that I’m just a random soldier, and like npcs should talk to groups that you’re just a part of, even if those groups are npcs, and lean into factions and large scale battles where you’re just one guy helping turn the tide. But instead they make you the main hero, but then you don’t get to lean into that either cos the game has to accomodate multiplayer, so it ends up trying to straddle this enormous central gap between the two extremes thematically even before you get to the gameplay

I’m not against games as service I’m against basically attaching that label to unfocused, unsure of themselves single player games that don’t have quite enough meat on their bones and so add an “endgame” loot grind which basically just ends up being minor stat boosts by doing the single player content over and over again

Prohass on
  • KarlKarl Registered User regular
    Anthem shows that the days of pay-to-entry GAAS games releasing with fuck all content is over. No one is going to invest time and money in a platform when there are established games with way more content.

You either need to be F2P or have lots of content on launch.

Launching with an entry fee and having bugger all is just not going to cut it.

• DemonStaceyDemonStacey TTODewback's Daughter In love with the TaySwayRegistered User regular
    If nothing else it's nice to see that voting with your wallet actually does matter.