As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Better get a babysitter cause we've got two tickets to the [GUN] show...

• webguy20webguy20 I spend too much time on the Internet Registered User regular
    MegaMan001 wrote: »
    First Time Gun Owner / Complete Novice Experience!
    To reiterate, I shot a gun for the first time about one year ago. Prior to that I had never held a gun, owned a gun, or even lived in a house where guns were kept. I think the only time I had ever even been in the same room as a gun before a year ago was in college at a buddies house after hitting all the local bars. He pulled out a hand gun and asked if I wanted to hold it. I told him I absolutely did not and excused myself and left. We never hung out together again, but unsure if that was related to my reaction.

With that said, I was one hundred percent in favor of stricter gun control. Guns, to me, were things that were made to kill other people and I felt if we had fewer of those things around, it would probably be a good idea. I recognize now that my beliefs were rooted more in fear of guns themselves, fear of 'gun culture', and a broad naivete.

March, 2020 made me think about getting a gun for the first time. I had a three year old little girl and my wife was pregnant with our second. We had bought a house about 25 minutes from nearest police station and I started thinking, "Well, if anyone were to try and harm my family there's likely nothing I could really do about it." I say that fully understanding the likelihood of someone targeting our home, while we were home, and who decided to enter anyway (after knowing the house was occupied) is astronomically low. But, as I've learned with a lot of things, its different when you're thinking about your own family.