As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

How to teach game programming to kids

Space PickleSpace Pickle Registered User regular
I'm an elementary school teacher in Ontario and coding was recently added to our curriculum. I don't teach math (I'm actually the music teacher) but I'd like to make some kind of extra-curricular game programming club for the Grade 7 and 8 students at my school. When I was around that age I had Qbasic in DOS, then Visual Basic and Borland C++, and then a couple years later in high school I took a course in Turbo Pascal and then Delphi. I hacked around in these and made some small games, so I believe with good teaching my students could accomplish even more.

However, we're limited by the fact that most schools in my area are going to chrome books, so we don't have access to Windows laptops. I think we have some older MacBooks. What I'm looking for is ideas/software to streamline things so that we can focus on the code and asset creation, instead of getting bogged down in the technical details (for example, I fired up the latest version of Visual Studio and tried some C++, and it's way too complicated for the amount of time that I have to work with). I'd like the kids to start with simple text-based games in the terminal or command prompt or whatever it's called now, and then maybe move on to doing stuff with simple graphics.

Any suggestions? So far I'm looking into Python and SDL/Pygame, although getting that to work on the chrome books seems like a big problem.

• CelestialBadgerCelestialBadger Registered User regular
    Roblox really gets kids that age enthusiastic about creating games. However Roblox Studio isn't easy to get working on Chromebooks (MacBooks are fine)