Club PA 2.0 has arrived! If you'd like to access some extra PA content and help support the forums, check it out at patreon.com/ClubPA
The image size limit has been raised to 1mb! Anything larger than that should be linked to. This is a HARD limit, please do not abuse it.
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

Running CS:Source in Parallels

Spoom182Spoom182 Registered User
edited May 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
So a friend of mine is trying to run CS source on a macbook pro, which is definitely a capable enough computer. But for whatever reason, his computer freezes whenever he tries to load it. Any ideas?

Spoom182 on

Posts

  • JasconiusJasconius sword criminal mad onlineRegistered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Is he allocating enough RAM to Windows to support the game?

    I would start with making sure the proper resources are allocated and go from there.

    Jasconius on
  • Spoom182Spoom182 Registered User
    edited April 2008
    There is more than enough RAM (something like 1,600 megs). We're gonna run a benchmark to see if it actually IS fast enough in the first place.

    Spoom182 on
  • Spoom182Spoom182 Registered User
    edited April 2008
    We just ran a benchmark, and although his computer isn't particularly fast, it is definitely fast enough to run CS:S. So we're back to square one.

    Spoom182 on
  • HlubockyHlubocky Registered User
    edited April 2008
    You are going to run a game in Parallels? I don't know much about virtualization, but I figured if you want to play games, you would have to boot into Windows natively.

    Hlubocky on
  • Oz K. FodrotskiOz K. Fodrotski Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Hlubocky wrote: »
    You are going to run a game in Parallels? I don't know much about virtualization, but I figured if you want to play games, you would have to boot into Windows natively.


    I was under the impression that Parallels and VMWare Fusion both supported graphics acceleration in the virtualized OS.

    That said, booting to Windows would probably be easier.

    Oz K. Fodrotski on
    XBLive: [URL="http://live.xbox.com/member/Oz K Fodrotski"]Oz K Fodrotski[/URL] | Steam: Mr. Fodrotski | Epic Default Productions
  • Spoom182Spoom182 Registered User
    edited April 2008
    How could he get Windows to boot natively on his mac?

    Spoom182 on
  • corcorigancorcorigan Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Spoom182 wrote: »
    How could he get Windows to boot natively on his mac?

    Boot Camp.

    Macs are just wintel machines now anyway, with an extra ROM chip or something so OS X runs on them.

    corcorigan on
    Ad Astra Per Aspera
  • falsedeffalsedef Registered User
    edited April 2008
    I haven't kept up with VMWare, but they couldn't run a lot of DX games last time I saw.

    falsedef on
  • Oz K. FodrotskiOz K. Fodrotski Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    The list on Parallels' site, here, neglects to list either HL2 or CS:S as one of the supported games.

    Meanwhile, on the VMWare Fusion site, I found this under the feature list;
    [*]Use even more Windows 3D applications and games with experimental support for DirectX 9.0 accelerated 3D graphics (without “shaders”).

    Between these two, I'm willing to go out on a limb and suggest that Windows virtualization under OSX does not yet support pixel shading, and related effects.

    If your friend wants to play CS:S on his Mac, he'll probably need to fire up Boot Camp.

    Oz K. Fodrotski on
    XBLive: [URL="http://live.xbox.com/member/Oz K Fodrotski"]Oz K Fodrotski[/URL] | Steam: Mr. Fodrotski | Epic Default Productions
  • TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu ___________PIGEON _________San Diego, CA Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Try adding -dxlevel 7 or 8 to the launch options.

    TychoCelchuuu on
  • Spoom182Spoom182 Registered User
    edited May 2008
    He told me that Boot Camp was no longer offered or something. He's not exactly a computer genius, so he could easily be misinformed. I'll got tell his ass to get boot camp.

    Spoom182 on
  • lunchbox12682lunchbox12682 MinnesotaRegistered User regular
    edited May 2008
    Boot Camp is part of Leopard now, but it's no longer a free demo, I think.

    But yeah 3d games under virtualization will not, in general, work.
    I tried both Parallels and Fusion with limited (just short of no) success.
    Dual boot is the way to go.

    lunchbox12682 on
  • Oz K. FodrotskiOz K. Fodrotski Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    Mirrors of the Boot Camp Beta are still floating about.

    If your friend is uncomfortable with the idea of using older beta software (and he's not running Leopard), he might also try simply re-sizing his OSX partition (via Apple Disk Utilities, I think) and using rEFIt to install Windows / recognize the multi-boot. I had a triple-boot going on my MacBook for a while, and it ran nice and smooth.

    Oz K. Fodrotski on
    XBLive: [URL="http://live.xbox.com/member/Oz K Fodrotski"]Oz K Fodrotski[/URL] | Steam: Mr. Fodrotski | Epic Default Productions
Sign In or Register to comment.