As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

OS X browsers cannot log in ...

akutzakutz Registered User
I am unable to login the forums from my powerbook with Camino, Firefox, or Safari.

I am able to login with IE 6 on my work machine or on our Terminal Server.

The forums do not seem to let me login at all with a Mac. Is this by design?

Help! ....

-a
akutz on

Posts

  • PheezerPheezer Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited September 2004
    No, it's not. The guy responsible for the main coding work uses a mac.

    Can you replicate this using a second mac? Or the same mac through a different Internet connection?

    Pheezer on
    IT'S GOT ME REACHING IN MY POCKET IT'S GOT ME FORKING OVER CASH
    CUZ THERE'S SOMETHING IN THE MIDDLE AND IT'S GIVING ME A RASH
  • tynictynic PICNIC BADASS Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited September 2004
    I only use macs, and I've had no problems.

    tynic on
  • akutzakutz Registered User
    edited September 2004
    I cannot login from my G4 Tower at work either ... I wonder if it will clear up if I nuke my Camino/Firefox/Safari prefs ...

    I am using 10.3.5 ...

    -a

    akutz on
    -a
  • tynictynic PICNIC BADASS Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited September 2004
    I also am using 10.3.5 on my powerbook. No problems at all. Methinks it is not your OS that is causing your issues. Might want to look at clearing your cookies and / or resetting preferences.

    tynic on
  • akutzakutz Registered User
    edited September 2004
    I have to say, I do like the cleaner cripser view of the forums that IE gives ...

    Still no luck with my Mac. I nuked the Camino prefs folder so Camino had to regenerate it.

    Is it possible it is a problem with my account? I had some issues signing up for the boards as well ...

    Firefox and Safari do not work on my mac at work either ...

    -a

    akutz on
    -a
  • apotheosapotheos Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited September 2004
    10.3.5 Safari here.

    As you can tell, aside from my mild psychosis, no problems.

    apotheos on


    猿も木から落ちる
  • akutzakutz Registered User
    edited September 2004
    Ok, so I've proven I cannot login with an XP Pro laptop as well ... This has got be some kind of cookie thing ...

    I can on the Terminal Server though ... I'm gonna examine the GPO to see what IE settings I applied on the Terminal server and hopefully that will tell me why I can login from it and nowhere else ...

    akutz on
    -a
  • akutzakutz Registered User
    edited September 2004
    FARK!!!! Firefox on the XP laptop does not work either ... Is it possible that my account is restricted to only login from a certain client computer (the one machine it works on ...)

    This is so entirely annoying ...

    akutz on
    -a
  • akutzakutz Registered User
    edited September 2004
    Even more ARG!!! Firefox on the terminal server does not work either ... So only IE 6 on the terminal server is working ... nothing anywhere else ...

    Camino on OS X powerbook - no
    Firefox on OS X powerbook - no
    Camino on OS X tower - no
    Firefox on OS X tower - no
    IE on XP Laptop - no
    Firefox on XP Laptop - no
    Firefox on Term Srvr - no
    IE on Term Srvr - YES

    Seriously, any suggestions? I mean other than "It works for me?"

    akutz on
    -a
  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited September 2004
    Firewall?

    Munkus Beaver on
    Twitch Channel
    Steam: munkus_beaver
    Humor can be dissected, as a frog can, but it dies in the process.
    http://www.ccfa.org/
  • akutzakutz Registered User
    edited September 2004
    munkus -- er, blocking port 80? heh heh ... that would be silly ...

    Nope, I figured it out ... It is an error in this boards PHP code ...

    If I set "Popup window on new private message" to true I cannot login anywhere other than IE on the terminal server which has no popup blocker ...

    IE on the XP SP2! machine and all other browsers were using popup blockers. Event when I turned them OFF I still could not login.

    It is something to do with that ... I am not sure why ...

    Thanks for all your help and suggestions ...

    akutz on
    -a
  • ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited September 2004
    akutz wrote:
    Even more ARG!!! Firefox on the terminal server does not work either ... So only IE 6 on the terminal server is working ... nothing anywhere else ...

    Camino on OS X powerbook - no
    Firefox on OS X powerbook - no
    Camino on OS X tower - no
    Firefox on OS X tower - no
    IE on XP Laptop - no
    Firefox on XP Laptop - no
    Firefox on Term Srvr - no
    IE on Term Srvr - YES

    Seriously, any suggestions? I mean other than "It works for me?"
    Are you disabling javascript? Im serious. We use a client side MD5 hashing system to authenticate users (against a server side MD5 hash), if you disable it in your browser it will still run half the script (which I dont understand) but it won't ignore it all together (which was the way I designed it for incompatible browsers). I have heard issues of it, but I will say that Firefox should work pretty much all the time on every platform. Safari I have had issues with, personally I can't login on the main page, I have to click the login button in the upper right corner (taking me directly to login.php) The code behind the two login boxes is nearly identical, so I really dont know what the issue is. I have been plannnig on updating the script, but things keep getting in the way.

    Älphämönkëy on
  • akutzakutz Registered User
    edited September 2004
    alphamonkey -- no, I'm not disabling Javascript. That is silly. Like blocking port 80 : )

    Actually, I looked at your javascript include file. Cool md5 code. The doLogin() function doesn't attempt to pop anything up like I thought it would ...

    I know that I can make it break if I enable the "Popup window on private message" preference.

    This breaks the login whether or not I have popup blockers turned off.

    There is some javascript in that preference that gets run on login that all the browsers I have used (with exception of IE on terminal server, windows 2003 and ie6 that is) go thpppptttt at.

    It works now, but I thought that you should know about the issue ...

    I installed Firefox fresh, as well as Camino. The IE on the XP laptop was installed with the OS this morning. All did not work out of the box. That is with default settings for those browsers. I know that FIrefox and Camino have Javascript turned on by default ...

    akutz on
    -a
  • ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited September 2004
    akutz wrote:
    Actually, I looked at your javascript include file. Cool md5 code. The doLogin() function doesn't attempt to pop anything up like I thought it would ...

    I know that I can make it break if I enable the "Popup window on private message" preference.

    This breaks the login whether or not I have popup blockers turned off.
    Hmmmmmm. That helps me out. Ill look into the code, it could be an expression is = instead of .=

    Älphämönkëy on
Sign In or Register to comment.