As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Deleted

2»

• tmccooltmccool Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    I have two things to say about art for a career: all the people me and my family knew that went to straight up art schools got burned out after a year and just quit. I'm a freshman now at Boston College, and after looking at either a traditional 4 year college versus an art school, we (my family) decided it was best to go for a good ol liberal arts education. This way I can still focus on my major, studio art, while taking other courses. Furthermore, the thing everyone kept telling us during orientation and during our first couple of weeks is that you shouldn't be terribly occupied with using college to get a job. Of course that's why you think you're going, but if you stress yourself out about it then it's not going to be worth going at all and you might even hate it too.

English, art, philosophy majors... we all joke that we'll be living in cardboard boxes when we graduate for school. Our majors aren't like business, computers, or engineering, but they're just as important. You really don't have to worry about finding a job once you graduate, because there will be plenty of time during senior year or afterwards to look for one, and you'll probably get help from a campus job center too. So major in art, and be proud.

tmccool on
  • paulwindpaulwind Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    tmccool wrote:
    after looking at either a traditional 4 year college versus an art school, we (my family) decided it was best to go for a good ol liberal arts education. This way I can still focus on my major, studio art, while taking other courses.
    . . . .