As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Insane game dev asks pirates to email him

cliffskicliffski Registered User regular
edited August 2008 in Games and Technology
Ok, I admit that would be me, doing it here:
http://positech.co.uk/cliffsblog/?p=76

the thing is, I was inspired by this excellent penny arcade strip:
20080808.jpg

in combination with some other stories regarding games costing more on PC than consoles (and the usage of this as justification for piracy) to think about the thought processes behind people pirating games. Obviously, as a game dev, I'm specifically worried most about my own (see sig).
99% of the time when people flame on an internet forum about piracy, they are either preaching to the converted, or ranting furiously at a company they know is ignoring them.
So I'm trying to be different, and doing something that I suspect may be akin to ignoring the advice of not mentioning the war, or working with children and animals, and I'm actively asking people who specifically pirated my games, to tell me why, and how I could have persuaded them to have bought them instead.

Is this mad? Should we never discuss this? Is it better to keep the devs in one corner, and the pirates in another, and pretend each other do not exist? I think not. I've seen these forums be more grown-up and reasonable than most, and thought it might be possible to have a sensible debate on the issue here.

So forgetting photoshop, forgetting mp3s, forgetting movies, the RIAA, MPAA, BSA etc etc etc, and thinking purely about SMALL BUDGET and indie games..... If you pirate them, why do you? and what would change your mind?

cliffski on

• Ragnar DragonfyreRagnar Dragonfyre Registered User regular
    edited August 2008