As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Am I Too Preoccupied With Being Creative?

Hexmage-PAHexmage-PA Registered User regular
edited August 2008 in Artist's Corner
I'm an art student, and I've developed a strange problem within the past few months: I've become preoccupied with making something unique to the point that it's hindering my enjoyment of drawing.

Here's an example of what I'm talking about:

I sit down to draw. What am I going to draw? Maybe a barbarian? Thousands of artists have drawn barbarians. What could I do to make a barbarian unique? Umm...Ben Franklin as a barbarian? No, that's just stupid... Maybe a jester girl? Okay, that seems okay... here we are! Her hat looks nice and interesting...wait a minute, that's the same kind of hat that the boss of Oracle of Ages wears! Shit, I thought I had come up with something original!

This sort of thing is happening all the time with me now. I know artists don't necessarily come up with new things all the time: using barbarians as an example, all kinds of games have barbarians in them, which means that many, many concept artists have drawn them before. However, I still don't like the idea that everything I draw is essentially a retread of a tired old idea.

I know this seems silly, but does anyone have any ideas on how I can put all this into better perspective? I've been drawing for a long time now, and I don't want to lose interest in art because of something like this (especially since I'm about to be a Junior at an art school!).

Hexmage-PA on

• NakedZerglingNakedZergling A more apocalyptic post apocalypse Portland OregonRegistered User regular
    edited August 2008
    well this thread is gonna get locked cause you didn't read the rules. POST SOME ART and it will stay open.
    show us that barbarian/jester.